Lord Admirals of the High Seas

Lord Admirals of the High Seas
L to R: Luke, Mike, Nato, Sam, Kyle

Thursday, May 14, 2015

KABOOM! Ottawa Explosion! Our June Tour Dates Are Here (also, D4th Of July)

Hey, everybody! Our tour dates this June to Ottawa Explosion are ready to be properly announced! We're incredibly excited to be a part of OXW (check out the official website, you really won't believe how cool this fest is if you don't already know), and also to hit the road out east to NYC and points between. There is a string of shows with Toys That Kill after OXW as well, that's pretty awesome! Anyway, here are the shows on our tour:

Fri. June 12 - Chicago, IL @ Quenchers
Sat. June 13 - St. Louis, MO @ FUBAR
Sun. June 14 - Cincinnati, OH @ Northside Tavern
Mon. June 15 - Dayton, OH @ Jimmy's Ladder 11
Tue. June 16 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Gooski's
Wed. June 17 - Lansing, MI @ Mystery Garage
Thu. June 18 - Detroit, MI @ PJ's Lager House
Fri. June 19 - Toronto, ON @ The Magpie
Sat. June 20 - Ottawa, ON @ OTTAWA EXPLOSION (our set is at Club Saw 3:30pm)
Sun. June 21 - Montreal, QC @ Brasserie Beaubien
Mon. June 22 - Boston, MA @ O'Briens
Tue. June 23 - Brooklyn, NY @ Acheron
Wed. June 24 - New Brunswick, NJ @ Court Tavern
Thu. June 25 - Long Island, NY @ tba (soon!)
Fri. June 26 - Columbus, OH @ Carabar
Sat. June 27 - Normal, IL @ Firehouse Pizza Pub

Next up in BDB news: Would you believe that our pals Dillinger 4 are turning 21 this year? And so, they are throwing the most insane D4th Of July show in the history of the world! Headlining are Against Me! (who rerouted their tour to play this), Scared Of Chaka (who reunited to play this), and there are a bajillion more awesome bands on this show, too. Somehow... SO ARE WE. Anyway, check out the Triple Rock's D4th Of July Page. You want to be at this.

Last but certainly not least, thank you Jesse "Pretty Boy" Thorson for putting on an awesome weekend-long One Last Party here in the Twin Cities. Your work is greatly appreciated, man. Cheers!

-Nato & the BDB

Tuesday, April 14, 2015

There Are Too Many Fest-Type Good Nato Coles Shows Coming Up

Hi everyone - Happy April, happy baseball season, hope you're all doing well! It's time for us as rock'n'rollers to tackle the pressing issue that confronts us: the number of excellent music festivals/block parties/etc. that we are playing in the near future.

First up: Saturday April 18th, we play the Hymie's Record Store Day Block Party. Insanely, we kick this thing off at 11am! Check out the Facebook event page. Many cool bands, much fun to be had... Not mentioned on the fb page: Gandhi Mahal is catering the event. My favorite Indian food in the Twin Cities? HELL YEAH!

Next: Winter's Over Music Fest, in Abercrombie ND! That's no more than half an hour from Fargo, fyi. It's the weekend of April 24th and 25th. We headline on Friday April 24th! This is an awesome lineup of rock'n'roll, folk, essentially just good Americana stuff! Check out the official website. And get your weekend passes now, because with how warm April has been so far, you KNOW it's going to be a GORGEOUS WEEKEND!

After that: One Last Party! Minneapolis MN. A bajillion great punk bands (such as Iron Chic, Direct Hit, The Slow Death, Arms Aloft, so many more...) are playing this four-day fest from Thursday May 7th through Sunday May 10th. We play Friday the 8th. Weekend passes are running out - go get them HERE, and check out the Facebook event page, too!

Still not done: The Art-A-Whirl Weekend in Northeast Mpls is approaching! May 15th, 16th, and 17th, the neighborhood explodes with music and fun at tons of clubs, house parties, art galleries... and breweries. We're playing Indeed Brewing Co.'s Whirlygig 2015 on Sat. May 16th! That lineup is so killer, with Mark Mallman, American Scarecrows, Rupert Angeleyes, and more. Check out the Facebook event page!

And finally: The Memory Lanes Block Party 2015 looms as large as anything coming up. If you live in the Twin Cities area, you've probably been to one of these. From Sat. May 23rd to Mon. May 25th, Memory Lanes has music blastin' through the Hub Of Hell - and we play the Trashmen Afterparty inside on Sunday night (the 24th)! Did I mention we are sorta technically on the same bill as THE TRASHMEN??? And the lineup is all killer, no filler Twin Cities rocker heavyweights! Check out the Facebook event page!

Phew! That's it. I hope I haven't forgotten anything. Naturally, we have "regular" shows coming up, too - check 'em out on the right hand side of this page.

-Nato & the BDB

ps go Brewers!

Wednesday, March 18, 2015

March Update

Hi everybody in Blue Diamond Land, hope you're all well and having some fun out there as the weather gets tolerable and people in Minnesota go CRAZY when the thermometer hits 50 degrees F...

Although we have taken a few weeks off from playing shows, starting with the last weekend in March, we begin a string of weekends where we have shows at least one day of every weekend until June! Pretty crazy. So make sure you keep checking the SHOWS over on the right-hand side of the page.

We're playing Winter's Over Music Fest in Abercrombie, North Dakota! It's April 24th and 25th, and we play on the 24th. Get your weekend passes now! Tons of great bands, too. Here's the website: https://www.wintersovermusicfestival.com/

More: although they aren't listed on this page because all the details still need to be worked out, right here in the beautiful Twin Cities, we're playing two excellent music festivals in early May. The weekend of May 8th and 9th, we are playing the ridiculous and morbid One Last Party punk rock fest, put together by Jesse Thorson of The Slow Death to honor the upcoming "death" and "funeral" of his bandmate Dave Strait. Here's the link to the proper facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/onelastparty. Punk rock fans, I HIGHLY encourage you to attend this thing. Look at that goddamn lineup! Jesse is a genius, and an idiot! He got Radon. RADON. Bow down to him.

And every May, northeast Mpls has a neighborhood festival called Art-A-Whirl. Multiple venues, all within walking distance, hosting myriad bands... including Nato Coles & the Blue Diamond Band! We're playing the show at the Indeed Brewery on Saturday May 16th. The lineup has leaked, so if you're chomping at the bit to see who else is playing, go do your homework! I haven't been told to post anything yet other than that we are playing, so I'm not gonna!

This June, we're touring east, and our main goal? Ottawa Explosion! Guess what city it's in? Yep! The Blue Diamond Band will cross our first international border, and we're gonna have a blast and donuts and beer! Ottawa Explosion is an insanely cool fest with tons of rock'n'roll of the punk/garage/power-pop flavor, and we are honored to play. Check out the website! http://ottawaexplosion.blogspot.com/. We'll also be playing cities in the east Midwest, all the way to NYC and Boston. So, keep an eye out, old weird America!

Our Grumpy's residency went wonderfully! Thanks to everyone who came out to it. The bar has assured me that we will be back next February if we want, so lock that one down on your 2016 calendar.

Last thing: baseball is back, Opening Day is coming up... Let's go to a game sometime!