Banda Macho!

Banda Macho!
L to R: Sam, Mike, Luke, Nato, Matt

Tuesday, October 1, 2019


HUGE NEWS: Nato Coles & the Blue Diamond Band are happy to announce that our second full-length studio album - Flyover - will be released to the world on Friday November 15th of this year!

That wonderful front cover was painted by the incredible Pierrette Montone, and we are so floored by how it turned out. (That's Cranberry in the fringed jacket!)

It's a ten song LP, five per side. Right now, we're streaming our first single off it: L.P.'s Yard, a song concerning the metaphorical afterparty at the end of the universe (or at least Gainesville Fest). You'll wanna check that out TODAY...

Flyover will be a Don Giovanni Records release - DG-181 if you want specifics. You can preorder it on vinyl or any digital platform here, as well as find it out our own bandcamp page. I say act fast! Supply is limited! But of course, you'll be able to pick it up from the best record stores (as well as our merch table at shows) after November 15th. A version will be released on compact disc in the near future as well, via Rum Bar Records (the label we've worked with for CDs before).

Don Giovanni is one of the best indie/punk/whatever labels around, having released amazing records for many years now for artists and bands such as Screaming Females, Lee Bains III and the Glory Fires, Mikey Erg (hi Mikey! We can see you from across the discography!), Sheer Mag, Laura Stevenson and the Cans, Dusk, and more, going all the way back to the early-mid 00's when I happened to meet a bunch of funny, amazing weirdos in a band called The Ergs! from a town called New Brunswick, New Jersey*. Ahh, glory days, well, they'll pass you by... but then you wind up on the same label as the guys who used to be in The Ergs!'s new bands, and hey, what's new?

(*technically I think we met in Chicago at the Fireside Bowl? And technically I think they were from places like Old Bridge, Sayreville, Perth Amboy, maybe Newbridge NJ... you tell me, Joe, Jeff, and Mike)

Here's the complete track listing:

1. Under The Flyover
2. L.P.'s Yard
3. Michelle Of The City
4. Phoenix, Arizona (1989)
5. Milo And The Bars
6. Demolition MAn
7. Standing On The Corner Alone
8. The Roadrunner
9. Disposable Camera
10. The Avenue Of The Saints

We are SO excited for you all to hear this thing! In the way that happens, we probably took a little too long between the making the first 95% of the record and the final 5%. But I guarantee you, we stuck the landing, and on November 15th you will know what I'm talking about! (There's going to be a second single in a few weeks' time as well. Did I just bury some kind of lede? Eh, who cares.) Note that this record was made by the lineup of the band from 2017, which means our current bassist Matt didn't play on it - Bill Rohla handed bass duties, and we thank him for that. And that's why there's an image of Bill in Pierrette's great painting, not Matt!

The record release party is Saturday November 16th at the Hook and Ladder in Minneapolis. That'll be followed by regional shows, and then a tour to the northeast and east coast in December, so we'll keep you posted and you stay tuned allright? Allright! Cheers, everybody! See ya soon,

Nato & the BDB